World clubfoot day

Today, 3rd June is world clubfoot day. A day to spread awareness about clubfoot and it’s treatment.

img1464965283141

It is also Dr  Ponsetti’s birthday- the pioneer of this non-invasive treatment method. A man who many children, adults and parents would love to thank personally for allowing them to be fully mobile and avoid invasive corrective surgery.

download (2)
The amazing Dr Ponsetti

I am incredibly grateful for this method of treatment to prevent pain in my boy and allow him to walk and run just like anyone else. I am proud to be aware of talipes and an advocate of the ponsetti method. I am excited about the rest of his treatment and his perfect feet.

I am also grateful for our treatment team at then hospital and STEPS charity for their invaluble support shortly after the initial prenatal diagnosis. I hope to one day in the not too distant future raise money for this and other clubfoot charities who help children in developing countries access treatment, with my son running around alongside me.

Leave a Reply

